Curved Stone Arch Bridge

I am finally getting around to building my curved bridge.  I originally was going to make it a wood trestle, but since it’s double-tracked I didn’t like the looks of it.  So I studied every type of railroad bridge that I could.  I wanted it to be a Midwestern bridge that was actually double-tracked and curved.  The Minneapolis Stone Arch Bridge met all my requirements.

risers risers2

I am making a frame out of 1/8″ Masonite and then will be covering it with 1/4″ foam.

outside2 open-framework

strathmore strathmore-under-arch

Here are the first pieces of foam that I have carved.  Next step will be to paint them.

foam-under-arch foam-outside

Completed placing the Strathmore board under the arches.

under-arches-completedtemporary-track2

temporary-track lineup4

painting painting4 test-fit test-fit3

This entry was posted in Home, Layout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

